International Railway Cinema Festival - CineRail Prizes 2017 – Lisbon

The film “Paris-Bordeaux 2h04” presented by the French company SNCF has won the CineRail 2017 main prize. The Public’s main prize went to the Portuguese film “507” produced by the Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Abrantes.

CineRail 2017 – International Railway Cinema Festival was held in Lisbon’s São Jorge cinema between 27 and 29 November in a joint organisation by CP – Comboios de Portugal and UIC – International Railway Union and it was attended by hundreds of spectators over the days of the screenings.

The closing and prize ceremony was held in the presence of the chairman of CP, Carlos Gomes Nogueira, Jean-Pierre Loubinoux, the general director of UIC and Mireille Martin, the chairman of CineRail.

This was the 22nd edition of CineRail and the first time kit has been held outside France. The idea is to show the public the best being done in cinema and audio-visual in the world exclusively dedicated to the topic of railways

The international jury was chaired by the director Marta Reis, and was composed of Leonor Teles (director), Clive Lamming (railway historian and journalist) and Pascal Mendive (artistic director and designer). The jury watched 65 films from 23countries and awarded prizes in seven categories. 

22nd “CineRail” – International Railway Cinema Festival Prizes

CineRail Grand Prix 2017: “Paris-Bordeaux 2h04”, SNCF, France (Producer: Première Fois, Director: K. Chapiron);
CineRail Public Grand Prix: “507”, Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Abrantes (Directors: A. Oliveira, P. Mourinha);
Public Honourable Mention: “Infrabel Star”, Infrabel, Belgium (Producer: Motion Makers, Director: R. Coppens);

Prizes by category:

Railway and sustainable transport
CineRail Prize: “RSSB – Our Story”, RSSB, United Kingdom (Producer: H. Wilmott, A. Jusic, B. Whipple, Director: Creative Connection);

Safety and Protection
CineRail Prize: “Rail Safety Week 2017”, KiwiRail, New Zealand (Producer: Sylvester Media, Director: G. Evans);
Special mention: “Trackstoppers”, Tracksafe, New Zealand (Producer: Clemengers BBDO, Director: Clemengers BBDO);

CineRail Prize: “Secrets of a Train Station”, SNCF Gares & Connexions, France (Producer: Gunsmoke, Director: J. de Gerlache);

Innovative services for passenger and freight transport
CineRail Prize: “The Suspension Railway in Wuppertal”, WSW Wuppertaler Stadtwerke (Producer: Frischfilm Agentur für Kommunikation, Director: P. Kleinert);

Corporate Communication
CineRail Prize: “Almonte Viaduct Timelapse, Reflections of a Camera”, ADIF, Spain (Producer: ADIF, Director: A. Garcia);

Internal Communication
CineRail Prize: “Electroshock”, SNCF, France (Producer: Elephant at Work, Director: H. Legoff);
Special mention: ”I could Have Saved a Life That Day”, Freightliner, United Kingdom (Producer: Picturascope Ltd, Director: R. Pendlebury);

Railway History and Heritage:
CineRail Prize: “The Establishment of Tokaido Shinkansen”, Central Japan Railway Company CJRC (Producer: Tanseisha Co, Ltd, Director: M. Suzuki).